Bassetlaw celebrates its Achievers

Local people who have shown exceptional commitment to helping and supporting their community were honoured at a special ceremony held in Retford Town Hall.

Nominees for a Bassetlaw District Council Achievers’ Awards range from residents who have dedicated their lives to helping their communities, working tirelessly for charities, personal achievements and sporting successes.

Cllr David Challinor said: “All our winners have made a wonderful contribution to our local community. Whether it is through their occupation, voluntary or charity work, as an essential part of their community or through a sporting activity, their contribution is something that should be recognised and they are a credit to us all.

“Bassetlaw is proud to recognise its achievers and congratulates all nominees and award winners.”

The Council’s Achievers’ Awards event took place on Wednesday 20 March, with this year’s nominees being presented with a certificate by the Chairman of Bassetlaw District Council, Cllr David Challinor.

All recipients of Achievers’ Awards are nominated by District Councillors, schools, community groups, Parish Council’s and members of the public. 

The awards were presented to the following:

Clarborough and District Women’s Institute - In recognition of hard work within the community

Pam Barnsdale - In recognition of work with the Retford Business Forum and the Retford Civic Society

Les Batty - In recognition of work at Harworth Church and within the Community

Fabian Bott - In recognition of fundraising for Motor Neurone Disease

Doreen Brumby - In recognition of fundraising for the Leukaemia Fund at Nottingham Hospital

Katie Credland - In recognition of producing a WW1 Concert at West Stockwith Village Hall

Stuart Dixon - In recognition of fundraising work for the Bluebell Wood Children’s Hospice

Amelia Durdy - In recognition of fundraising work for the Bassetlaw Foodbank

Arthur Eakin - In recognition of fencing achievements

Jordan Ferguson, Ruth Moore, Jessica Newton, Ben Tomlinson - In recognition of winning a Gold medal at the World Lifesaving Championships 2018

Jack Foster - In recognition of hard work and commitment to the Parish of Sturton le Steeple

Holly Frost - In recognition of achievements in Taekwondo

Diane Hemsley - In recognition of work with the Retford Business forum

Pat Henson - In recognition of fundraising efforts for Misterton Parish Church

Maureen Holgate - In recognition of hard work in the village of Lound

Pat Hooton - Awarded for hard work in Walkeringham village over many years

Clare Kenrick - For work with the Vincent de Paul Charity

Hayley Kilmore - In recognition of hard work and dedication to the village of Beckingham

Sandra Lonsdale, Dorothy Richardson - In recognition of work with the Misterton Gardeners Club

Michael Merrills - In recognition of 28 years’ service with the Retford RAFA

Diana Moss - In recognition of work in the village of Dunham-on-Trent

Cadet Colour Sergeant Reece Newbury - In recognition of achievements at the Worksop Army Cadet Unit

Hazel Newstead - In recognition of work with the Scouts, St Giles’ School and the Retford Business Forum

Beverley Pottinger - In recognition of running the ‘Forget me Not’ Club for the past eleven years.

Emily Race - In recognition of athletic achievements in the National Championships

Heather Salmon - In recognition of hard work and success running Pinewood House for 33 years

Margaret Smith - In recognition of many years of care of the North Leverton Village Memorial

Kay and Iain Stocks - In recognition of fundraising efforts for the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation

Michael & Elizabeth Szarelis - In recognition of your ‘Wooden Cross’ project for the WW1 War Graves

Victoria Taylor - In recognition of volunteer work at the Misterton Library

Cadet Corporal Jasmine Warner - In recognition of achievements at the Worksop Army Cadet Unit

Ann Wilson - In recognition of your work as Church Warden at All Saints Church, Harworth

Jonathan Wilson - In recognition of your work with the Harworgh FC Football teams

Rampton Village Hall C & T Group - In recognition of providing a popular, much needed facility in the village

Last Updated on Thursday, March 21, 2019

This website uses cookies to make sure you get the best experience during your visit. Learn more about cookies