Pedal Power raises £1,700 for Aurora

Pedal Power raises £1,700 for Aurora


John Shephard presenting cheque

A Bassetlaw Councillor and his wife have raised more than £1,700 for the Aurora Wellbeing Centre in Worksop thanks to an epic 1,200-mile cycle ride from Land’s End to John O’Groats.

Cllr John Shephard, who is Ward Member for Worksop South East, and his wife Gill set off on their journey from the southern-most point in the UK - Land’s End, Cornwall on 31st August reached their destination, John O’Groats at the North tip of Scotland on 20th September.

The couple raised a total of £1,700 with £850 being generated by public donations and £850 from councillor community grants.

John said: “We really enjoyed the ride and cycled an average of 60 miles a day following the quiet roads and off-road cycle trails on the Sustrans National Cycle Network. It’s not the quickest route, but very scenic and it was great to see the changing and wonderful landscape of Britain and meet many helpful and interesting people on the journey, the highlight of which was the amazing scenery in the North of Scotland.

“I’d like to thank everyone who generously donated money as the Aurora charity does some fantastic work in Bassetlaw and it’s great that the historic Old Library building is being put to such good use. But they need lots of donations to keep the centre running and we’re thrilled that we are able to help out in a small way.”

The Aurora Wellbeing Centre provides a range of support services and therapies for cancer patients and their families and General Manager, Debra Fores, said: “Thank you to John and Gill for raising funds for Aurora. This funding is excellent news for Aurora and will enable us to continue to offer free packages of treatments for local people with a cancer diagnosis and their carers in our Centre.”

The Bassetlaw District Councillors who contributed to the total fund through their Community Grants are: Cliff Entwistle, Gill Freeman, Michael Gray, Debbie Merryweather, David Potts, Josie Potts, Sue Shaw, John Shephard and Clayton Tindle.


Last Updated on Thursday, May 7, 2020