Parliamentary Election 2017

General Election – Parliamentary Election Timetable

Bassetlaw District Council Parliamentary Election Timetable of Proceedings for Thursday 8 June 2017.

General Election – Candidates and Agents Briefing

Neil Taylor, Chief Executive of Bassetlaw District Council and Stephen Brown, Head of Corporate Services, are holding a briefing for candidates and election agents for the upcoming Parliamentary election that will take place on 8th June.

The briefing will be held at 6pm on Wednesday 3rd May in the Assembly Room at Worksop Town Hall, and all prospective candidates are invited to attend.

If you wish to attend the briefing, please contact Elections and Democratic Service Manager Julie Hamilton on 01909 533 146 or email

Find Worksop Town Hall

General Election – Thursday, 8th June 2017

Following the Prime Minister’s announcement of a General Election for 8th June, 2017, our Elections Team have already received a number of queries and requests for postal and proxy votes.

We would like to remind residents that you do not need to re-register to vote for each election. If you are registered to vote for the May 4th Notts County Council Elections and are  a British citizen, a qualifying Commonwealth citizen or a citizen of the Republic of Ireland then you will be registered for the General Election.

You only need to register to vote if you have moved house or have not previously registered to vote at the address you live at. You can register to vote online at

The deadline to register to for the General Election on 8th June is midnight on 22nd May.

Who Can Vote at a General Election?

The Electoral Commission ( provides the following guidance:

To vote in a UK general election a person must be registered to vote and also

  • 18 or over
  • be a British citizen, a qualifying Commonwealth citizen or a citizen of the Republic of Ireland
  • not be subject to any legal incapacity to vote

Additionally, the following cannot vote in a UK general election:

  • EU citizens resident in the UK (although they can vote at elections to local authorities, devolved legislatures and the European Parliament)
  • anyone other than British, Irish and qualifying Commonwealth citizens

I want a postal vote, who do I contact?

If you want a postal vote, you should contact the Council’s Elections Team on 01909 533 252 or download an application form

The deadline for receipt of postal vote applications for the  General Election on 8th June is 5pm on 23rd May.

Some candidates may suggest that you contact them for a postal vote, however we recommend that you only contact the Council’s Election Team for a postal vote as they are able to check your voter registration details and ensure that your information is correct.

Please contact the Election’s Team if you will be on holiday as they will be able to confirm what date the postal vote pack will be released.

I want a proxy vote, how does this work?

Voting by Proxy means appointing someone else to vote on your behalf.  All you need to do is fill in a proxy vote application form. This is available for various reasons, for example if you are away on holiday, working away from home or if you are a student. 

If you find that you are able to vote in person at your polling station on Election Day, you can still do this but only if you go to the polling station before your proxy does.